Assuring the registration assessment

To make sure that each registration assessment is consistent, the question papers are set and moderated by an appointed body, the Board of Assessors. All decisions about questions, papers, candidates and pass marks are made by the board.

See the marking algorithm for the 2022 sittings [PDF 222.94 KB] 

See the process for marking papers and issuing results [PDF 242.09 KB]

Read our response to an FOI request about marking the March 2021 assessment  [PDF 205 KB]


The Board of Assessors is made up of:

  • a pharmacist chair
  • other pharmacist members (a mixture of academic pharmacists and pharmacists in practice)
  • members who are not pharmacists, but assessment experts

Members of the board

Professor Andrew Husband, Newcastle University, pharmacist (chair)

Mr Ahmed Aboo, De Montfort University, pharmacist

Ms Johanne Barry, Queens's University, pharmacist 

Dr Heather Bell, Northern Ireland Centre for Pharmacy Learning and Development, pharmacist

Ms Kathryn Bullen, University of Sunderland, pharmacist

Ms Sonia Chand, Hospital pharmacist

Ms Kathryn Davison, University of Sunderland, pharmacist

Dr James Desborough, University of East Anglia, pharmacist

Ms Laura Doyle, Cardiff University, pharmacist

Mr Daniel Grant, University of Reading, pharmacist

Dr Mat Smith, Cardiff University, pharmacist

Professor Alison Strath,Scottish government, pharmacist

Dr Alison Sturrock, non-registrant member

Dr Tushar Vince, non-registrant member

The Board of Assessors will not discuss or correspond  with individual candidates about the assessment. If you would like to discuss the assessment, email  to or by call our contact centre on 0203 713 8000.