Brexit-related FAQs

How Brexit is affecting EEA-qualified pharmacy professionals 

Read our frequently asked questions to find out what Brexit means for pharmacists.

On 31 December 2020, the Brexit transition period ended, following the United Kingdom’s withdrawal from the European Union (EU). From 1 January 2021, the registration process for some pharmacists with non-UK qualifications changed.

The type of application and evidence you need to provide to register depends on your pharmacy qualifications, rather than your nationality. Pharmacy professionals with qualifications from the European Economic Area (EU countries, Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway) need to follow a different route to get their qualifications recognised in the UK.

The FAQs below are drawn from guidance for EEA-qualified and Swiss healthcare professionals practising in the UK from 1 January 2021, published by the Department for Health and Social Care (DHSC).

Alongside this information, we also recommend reading guidance from other organisations such as the Medicines and Healthcare products Regulatory Agency. 


The registration status of EEA pharmacists on part 1 of the GPhC register has not changed, meaning EEA pharmacists can continue to practise.