Assuring the registration assessment

To make sure that each registration assessment is consistent, the question papers are set and moderated by an appointed body, the Board of Assessors. All decisions about questions, papers, candidates and pass marks are made by the board.

See the marking algorithm for the 2023 sittings [PDF 222.94 KB] 

See the process for marking papers and issuing results [PDF 242.09 KB]

The Board of Assessors is made up of:

  • a pharmacist chair
  • other pharmacist members (a mixture of academic pharmacists and pharmacists in practice)
  • members who are not pharmacists, but assessment experts

Members of the board

Mat Smith, Cardiff University, pharmacist (chair)

Ahmed Aboo, De Montfort University, pharmacist

Johanne Barry, Queen’s University Belfast, pharmacist 

Heather Bell, Northern Ireland Centre for Pharmacy Learning and Development, pharmacist

Kathryn Bullen, University of Sunderland, pharmacist

Sonia Chand, Health Education England, pharmacist

Kathryn Davison, University of Sunderland, pharmacist

Laura Doyle, Health Education and Improvement Wales, pharmacist

Daniel Grant, University of Reading, pharmacist

Alison Strath, Scottish government, pharmacist

Alison Sturrock, non-registrant member

Tushar Vince, non-registrant member

The Board of Assessors will not discuss or correspond  with individual candidates about the assessment. If you would like to discuss the assessment, email  to or by call our contact centre on 0203 713 8000.