GPhC appoints three new pharmacist members to its Board of Assessors

The GPhC has appointed three pharmacist members to its Board of Assessors – Sonia Chand, Laura Doyle and Kathryn Davison.

Commenting on the appointments, Nigel Clarke, Chair of the GPhC, said:

“I would like to take this opportunity to welcome Sonia, Laura and Kathryn to their new roles. The Board of Assessors plays a vital role in providing quality assurance for the registration assessment and I am sure our new members will make a significant contribution.”

Sonia Chand

Sonia Chand has been a practising pharmacist for 14 years. Her experience includes working in community, hospital, and academia. Sonia has recently joined the ambulance service as their trust pharmacist and is in the completion phase of her PhD. Her specialist practice is in palliative care.

Laura Doyle

Laura has been working as Head of Pre-registration at WCPPE for 5 years. Within this time, she has been involved in making a number of changes to the programme as well as supporting the development and evaluation of the multi-sector pre-registration training. She also works at the School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences at Cardiff University developing and delivering bilingual teaching on the MPharm programme. In addition to this Laura remains working in practice as a pharmacist with Boots.

Kathryn Davison

Kathryn is a principal lecturer and team leader of the pharmacy practice team in the School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences, University of Sunderland. She has a background in the field of community pharmacy and continues to practice in this area. She has previously completed a three-year tenure as MPharm programme leader and has experience as a question writer and chief invigilator for General Pharmaceutical Council. Her research interests are mainly focused on experiential learning within pharmacy education and pre-registration training.

Further information about the Board of Assessors is available here.