GPhC is recruiting three new council members

The General Pharmaceutical Council (GPhC) has begun recruiting for three new council members, including two registered pharmacy professionals and one lay member of the public. 

The recruitment campaign is seeking candidates from all sections of the community across Great Britain who can bring a wide range of knowledge, skills and experience to the Council. This must include one member who lives or works wholly or mainly in Scotland.

Candidates will need to meet the essential criteria for the role as outlined in the candidate pack, and the GPhC is particularly seeking candidates with one or more of the following experience:

  • knowledge and/or experience of patient advocacy or the patient voice (Lay)
  • clinical and/or prescribing skills in one or a range of settings (Registrant)
  • experience of technology developments in healthcare (Lay or Registrant)
  • an understanding of academic and vocational education and training (Lay or Registrant)

Commenting on the recruitment of the new council members, Nigel Clarke, Chair of the GPhC said:

“This is an exciting time to join the GPhC Council. We have an ambitious programme of work ahead at this time of change for pharmacy, and as a Council we have an important strategic governance and assurance role to play.

“We value diversity and want to promote it on our Council.  It is vital that our Council members are drawn from the widest possible talent pools, bringing with them different life experiences, ideas and perspectives, to inform our discussions and decisions. We would encourage anyone who meets the criteria to apply, even if they have not held this type of role before.

“I also want to take this opportunity to thank our three outgoing council members for their significant contribution and dedication to improving pharmacy practice for patients and the public.”

Further information:

Applications will open on Monday 29 July 2019 and close at 12.00 pm on Monday 16 September. Successful applicants will take up their post on 1 April 2020.

Saxton Bampfylde is acting as an employment agency advisor on these appointments. You can find out more about the roles and apply through their website at  using the code: AAEEF. Alternatively, telephone +44 (0)20 7227 0880 during office hours.

Our three outgoing members of council will be Alan Kershaw, Digby Emson and Evelyn McPhail. You can find out more about them in the council member biographies pages of our website.