Nigel Clarke re-appointed as GPhC Chair

The Privy Council has re-appointed Nigel Clarke as Chair of the General Pharmaceutical Council for a period of four years from 1 April 2018 to 12 March 2022.

Nigel has served as Chair of the GPhC since March 2014 and was re-appointed by the Privy Council following scrutiny of the appointment process by the Professional Standards Authority.

In response to the announcement, Nigel Clarke said:

“I am delighted to be re-appointed as chair and to have the opportunity to continue to lead the GPhC as we take forward a number of significant developments, including the implementation of revalidation, the reform of education and training standards for the pharmacy team and developments to our approach to regulating pharmacies.

“I look forward to continuing to work with the GPhC Council, the GPhC team, pharmacy professionals and colleagues in health and care across England, Scotland and Wales to achieve our aim of supporting and improving the delivery of safe and effective care in pharmacy and upholding public confidence in pharmacy.”